top of page

Life in the Big Apple

Updated: Feb 23, 2021

Hello Angels. This is Tamara. In today's post, I'll talk about my experiences moving to Tokyo.




I've been living in Tokyo for a year now and the moving process was quite easy. Not talking about the visa stuff but, how it was to take my bag from the small town I was living in Niigata Prefecture and move to the big city.


I've been living in Tokyo for a year now and the moving process was quite easy. Not talking about the visa stuff but, how it was to take my bag from the small town I was living in Niigata Prefecture and move to the big city.


I have to say I was lucky.


My new boss helped me find a place in a nice reasonable neighborhood, sign the contract, and set up my gas, water, and electricity.


I found myself a 1 room and dining area apartment. Is small but quite comfortable.


My tip to you is: Don't rent near central Tokyo.


My apartment is in Kanagawa and you wouldn't believe the price difference just by living out of the 23 Tokyo wards. The apartments are bigger and the rent cheaper. I live about 30 minutes away from Shinjuku so I have access to central Tokyo at any time I want.


My second tip is: Choose a Japanese real state company.


Get some help from a Japanese friend or your company and go to a local Japanese real estate company. Sometimes, "foreign friendly" charges higher fees from non-Japanese since it's a little more difficult to translate all the documents. If you can get help from a Japanese friend you'll save good money and get a better deal.


This is all for this post folks. If you have any questions or suggestions for a new post please leave a comment below. Thanks for reading! ;)

0 views0 comments
bottom of page